Horticulture Class Update – Feb 28, 2016

I hope everyone is doing well.  I have not updated you on my Horticulture Class since the first day.  Haha.  I love Horticulture class.  It is so fun and interesting.  In the morning, Monday – Thursday we have a lecture / class, and in the afternoon, we go out to our big greenhouse.  I love going to the greenhouse.  It is so therapeutic.  I have about 300 plants that I take care of.  I planted some Petunia seeds in the middle of January and now I have about 120 Petunia plants.  They are for the Spring Flower Sale.  I also have two trays of Begonias that we got from another plant by clipping pieces off and planting them.  It is a form of propagation (breeding plants).  So I have 72 of those.  They are looking great.  I also have about 50 Snake Plants.  They are just cuttings right now.  We cut up one of the plants and made more.  🙂

I also have some Holly cuttings as well.  I took a grassy-looking houseplant and separated it, divided it to come up with 11 plants.  They are doing so well.  I also have 8 Strawberry plants.  One of them has 4 Strawberries!  Yum!  I also have 15 Cacti and 2 Tomato plants.

We are about to start our vegetable garden. We are going to plant Beets, Carrots, Cucumbers, Arugula, Spinach, Broccoli, Leafy Lettuce, Turnips, Turnip Greens, Radishes, Squash, Onions, Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Crème de Menthe Melon, Green Beans and Tomatoes.  We have about 60 Tomato Plants.  I am planting Beets and Onions in my row. I have been adding compost and turning the dirt so far.  It looks great! I can’t wait. I will also be planting some Browalia (purple flower, annual) for our Spring Flower sale, and Vinca and Mimulus (yellow flower or monkey flower) in the next month.  So far, in the greenhouse, I have learned about Pest Management,  and Propagating and Basic Greenhouse Maintenance (weeding, cleaning, watering, etc.)  I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

I am also working on m own little project.  It is called “Second Chance Acres”.  It is a Dry Bean Farm, Hummus production, low income housing, Rehabilitation and a Community Garden for ex-cons.  It will be a non-profit organization to help felons get their lives together.  I am doing some intense research and planning!  Not only will we provide Rehab, but also Christian activities, services and community meals and programs.  The Rehab part will be modeled after the Circle of Hope program in Canada.  I will keep you all updated on Horticulture and “Second Chance Acres.”

Leave a Reply

