That was Then…. This is Now – September 6, 2015

Today as I was sitting in church listening to Chaplain Brown preach, I was reminded of something.  I was reminded of April 27, 2014, the day I decided to ask for forgiveness, repent, and put my trust in God.  I realized that day that I couldn’t live the way I was living anymore.  I couldn’t live apart from God any more.  It was time for me to stop controlling my life and everyone around me to try to feel happy.  It was time to let God take control of my life.

Over the past year and a half, I have slipped and fell, bumped into a wall, stubbed my toe on a chair; but then I realized that God was still there.  He picked me up, and I kept on walking.  I fall, I get back up, fall and get back up…. Fall and get back up!  He is always there.  Now that I have accepted Jesus I my heart, I have a peace and joy in my heart that I have never had.  I am in prison, but my heart is free, thanks to Jesus who died on the cross for our sins.  To those that say “If only I was in a better living situation”, who wish they had more, who think worldly things will make them happy, for those with no hope.  There is hope in Jesus Christ.

Take up your cross and follow Him and you too can have peace and joy!

I am going to end with some powerful lyrics form a song called “That was then, this is now” by Josh Wilson:

“That was then, this is now
Bought by the blood
Saved by the Son
The Saints all Sing about”

I love you all!  May the peace of Christ be in you always!

Love,
Eddie

Leave a Reply

