Sergeant Suicide – August 29, 2015

Today I found out some sad news about a sergeant that works at this prison.  Thursday night he decided to take his own life.  Now I didn’t know this man well, but I will tell you that he was nice to us.  He used to be a sergeant on our unit, then he became the sergeant of the warehouse.  He was one of the officers that treated us like humans.  I saw him on Wednesday, August 26th and he found out that my package was lost.  He put in extra effort to get my package to me.  He didn’t mind going the extra mile for an inmate.  None of the inmates talked bad about him and were truly sad to find out the news.

Well, I was saddened and prayed for his soul and his family.  I also thought about the moments leading up to his suicide and imagined what God was doing.  I imagined God standing there, telling him, “Child, please don’t do this” with tears in his eyes.  When he made the choice, I imagine God weeping for He lost a beloved child.  Then I decided to meditate about this in silence and listen for God, hopefully getting an answer about his eternal destiny.  I would like to think that God gave him the choice to be with Him in Heaven.

I understand that Judas Iscariot hangs himself, because he betrayed Jesus.  A lot of people think that makes you go automatically to Hell.  I would like to think that He gives you a second chance after death, and if you choose eternal life away from God, then you die your second death.

What do you think?

My heart goes out to all the families who have lost a loved one to suicide; those people that have thought about taking their lives or have tried.  There is still hope.  There is still life in God.

God loves you no matter what.

Leave a Reply

