Created to be loved – August 29, 2015

“Jesus looked at him and loved him…”   — Mark 10:21

Last night I was at choir practice and before we practice, we have a Bible study.  The Chaplain was talking about self-consumption and how as humans we all tend to be completely consumed with ourselves.  No one can deny that that is sometimes true.  We all have moments sometimes periods of time, when we are so consumed with ourselves that no one else or nothing else matters to us.  I lived 29 years being completely 100% self consumed.  Now I have bouts of self-consumption, but it doesn’t completely 100% consume me.

Well, in Mark 10:17-31, it talks about the rich man who wants eternal life.  Of course he comes to Jesus with the attitude, “What can you give to me? What can I get from you?”  He asks Jesus, “What must I do to inherit eternal life?”  Jesus proceeds to tell him that he must follow all the commandments.  The man replies “all these I have kept since I was a boy.”  And in verse 21 it starts out with “Jesus looked at him and loved him.”  Now did Jesus look at him and love him because he followed all the commandments?  I don’t think so.  Because Jesus then says “one thing you lack, go sell everything you have and give it to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven.  Then, come, follow me.”

Now I put emphasis on the part of the verse 21 that says “Jesus looked at him and loved him” because Jesus loves everyone; even if they don’t quite believe or submit themselves completely to God.  Jesus meets everyone on the road they travel.  It is up to that person to give up everything and to follow him.

I am not saying sell everything you have and live homeless. I am saying, let God consume all your thoughts and your heart.  Be submissive to God and live in His presence daily.  This is a hard thing to accomplish!  We may never fully get this until we see him face to face, but it is something to strive for.  God loves you, no matter what.

“Jesus looked at him and LOVED HIM.”

Leave a Reply

