I Give Myself Away – July 12, 2015

About 2 months ago, I wrote a blog called “Lose Yourself in…” and I talked about losing yourself in the Holy Spirit.  Be passionate about God and lose yourself in Him.  Today at church I had the best worship experience I ever had.  Just in case you don’t know, I am in a close custody prison.  I am the lead singer of the band and lead worship for all the Christian Services along with the band.  This week on Tuesday (July 7th), I was introduced to the praise song “I Give Myself Away”.  I had never heard it, but fell in love with the song.  It starts with the chorus “I Give Myself Away.  I give myself away, so you can use me.”

These words are so powerful because God wants to use us in this world.  He wants us to love people and let people know that God loves them no matter what.  In order for us to be disciples, servants, saints, we need to let God be the creator of our life and use us in ways we never thought possible.  It says in John 3:17 “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him.”

God not only sent his son to save the world, but he also created us in his image to help save the world.  And in 1 Timothy 2:3, Paul says “This is good and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.”  Notice he says ALL people… So this song is a gentle reminder to hand our life over to God.  To allow God to use us in any way he wants to save ALL people.  At the end of the song, the lyrics say, “My life is not my own.  To you I belong.  I give myself, I give myself to you.”

God created you and he wants you to love him and love his people.  Your life is not yours; it belongs to God.  Allow God to guide your life, pilot your plane.  Give yourself away so God can use you in powerful ways!

“I Give Myself Away”

I give myself away
I give myself away
So you can use me.

Here I am.  Here I stand
Lord my life is in your hands.
Lord I’m longing to see
Your desires revealed in me.

I give myself away
I give myself away
So you can use me.

Take my heart, take my life
As a living sacrifice
All my dreams, all my plans
Lord I place them in your hands.

I give myself away
I give myself away
So you can use me.

My life is not my own, to you I belong.
I give myself, I give myself to you.

Leave a Reply

