Choices – July 5th

Note from Eddie’s Mom:  Eddie forgot to title this blog post.  So I titled it “Choices”.  We all have a choice.  We can be a slave to this world (and worldly things) or we can be a slave to God.  Be a slave to God!

So this past week, for some odd reason, I was allowing these things to control me.  It caused me to not show God’s love to people like I normally would do.  I was very weak against the evil.  Once the devil gets a hold of you, it is a hard fight out.  I prayed hard, reached into my bible, meditated, listened to Christian music and thought about the tools my counselor gave me.

Then on Friday, I called my grandparents.  I was still in a funk, off-balance and of course, grandparents notice these things.  Even over the phone.  Yes, they are that good.  Haha.  My grandfather said, “What’s wrong?  You don’t sound like yourself?”  And I gave a “No, I just have allergies” answer and eventually said “people were irritating me, and I will send a letter about it.”  Then my grandmother asked “What is your word of the day?”  Well, I just got done reading my bible, so I wasn’t sure if she meant something from the word of God or a word.  So I asked for clarification and she said “Your Mom’s is ‘Joy’”.  And I said, “Love”.

After I got off the phone, I thought about my word and it reminded me of God’s love and how we are to love others.  So I turned to my bible, and I came across John 15:12 which says, “My Command is this: Love each other as I have loved you!”  –John 15:12 (NIV)

And this verse led me to multiple verses of how God loves us, how we should love, how Jesus humbled himself and loved.  How God loves everyone, and this list goes on.  LOVE is a major theme in the bible.  Then finally, this is where I closed my bible, because it summed up my whole week. How I will deal with these situations in the future.  After I read these verses, my bad week was closed, destroyed and forgotten.  These verses reminded me of how I need to love:

“But to you who are listening, I say:  Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”  — Luke 6:27-28 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

