Plant Move – June 6, 2015

For the past two months, there have been a lot of rumors about the sewing plant shutting down and moving to the Medium Custody prison, Mountain View.  There have also been some rumors going around that this prison, Marion, is going to turn into an STG/lockdown prison.  STG stands for “Security Threat Group” and lockdown means that you are locked in your cells 23 hours a day and come out for an hour to go to canteen, use the phone, take a shower, etc.  These two things aren’t good.  Well according to my case manager, I can’t go to Medium Custody, because I am new and am supposed to be in close custody at least 2 years.  I have only been locked up for 6 months.  So I have kind of been looking for another job, planning for staying here when the plant moves.  I was offered a canteen job the other day.  A lot of inmates were telling me to take it.  But something didn’t feel right, so I turned it down.  I waited until I talked to the Assistant Plant Manager about my future with the plant.  I have been really blessed by working in the plant and want to stay for right now.

I work with some pretty awesome guys, who sometimes I can’t believe did something terrible.  One guy I have befriended is a serial killer (I think… that is what I have been told).  Who knows if that is 100% true?  Anyway, he is super nice and pretty mature and cool to talk to.  It is just a good atmosphere and makes every day feel “typical”.  What I mean by that is you go to work and you go “home” but really not home.  Anyway!  So I talked to the boss man.  I told him my situation and what my case manager said.  He said he is working on getting me an override to go to Mountain View because I have Medium Custody points.  He  also told me that if he couldn’t for some reason, get an override, then he would get me in the Sewing Plant at Scotland close prison.  I also found out that Scotland has a Braille transcription plant.

Scotland has close and medium custody.  That would be cool to work in the “Braille plant.”  So I found out that either way, I am going to be working in a sewing plant.  So I decided to turn down the canteen job.  After I got my medium custody and stay at the plant for a little bit, I am going to try to get into the Sex Offender treatment program and be a mentor.  I would like to become a counselor some day!  For sex offenders and ex-cons.

Leave a Reply

