Lose Yourself in… May 18, 2015

Note from Eddie’s Mom:  Today I remembered that I titled this blog, “PrayforEddie”, and I realized that the whole time I’ve been praying for Eddie, he’s been praying for us.

I had an experience in church today that made me think of American Idol.  I haven’t watched American Idol since Season 9 when Adam Lambert was on there, but they played American Idol every week this year, so I watched it.  In the Audition rounds, there was a girl named Jax, who sang “I want to Hold your Hand” and she played piano.  I had goosebumps the whole time, and it was very captivating.  I said after that, that she was going to be in the Top 5.  She “lost herself in the music” and almost every song she performed throughout the season, she lost herself in the song/music.  That is why I liked her.  She may not have been the best singer compared to past seasons, but she lost herself in the music.  What I mean by losing yourself in the music is…  She gave herself to the song.  She allowed the song to take over her mind, body, soul, and voice.  She messed up, but she was so immersed into the music that she didn’t care and the audience didn’t notice.  She gave up her whole being to the music.  It is what made her stand out.

Today at church, we sang “The Stand” by Hillsong. This is an older praise song from 2005.  But it is powerful.  This is the type of song that you can lose yourself in. That is exactly what happened.  People were losing themselves in the song. But more importantly, “losing themselves in the Holy Spirit.”  This is one of the greatest feelings you can have.  It’s one of those feelings you want to have all the time.  It is hard to lose yourself in the Holy Spirit all the time.  It is hard to surrender yourselves completely to the Holy Spirit.  Often times, we lose ourselves in the wrong things.  We immerse ourselves in many things, like worry, fear, anxiety, money, music, games, friends, loved ones and the list goes on.  we need to lose ourselves in the Holy Spirit.

“Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me.  Anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.  Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me.  Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.”  

— Matthew 10: 37-39

Lose yourself in the Holy Spirit.  Allow the Holy Spirit to take over your mind, body, hear and soul.

Leave a Reply

