Mom and Mark’s First Visit – Apr 26, 2015

So yesterday I had the privilege to spend some time with Mom and Mark.  Since they drove from Pennsylvania, they got an extended visit; Two hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon.

The first visit starts at 8:30 a.m. and the second at 1:30 p.m.  Well, 9:00 a.m. rolled around and they still hadn’t called for me.  I was thinking and hoping they didn’t have an emergency or they couldn’t make it.  Then I thought they wouldn’t just not show up, and if there was an emergency, someone would have called the Chaplain and told me.  So I thought maybe they got lost or they were held up in the metal detector because of the pins in Mark’s hand.  Well they called me at 9:03 and sure enough, they got lost, which is easy to do.  They ended up near the close-by Medium Security prison, and they stopped at the Minimum Security prison.  Haha.  I was so excited to see them.  When I got to them I hugged them, and I let them get all their questions out of the way about the prison.  We talked about the plant closing down and moving!

The whole time I could tell my Mom wasn’t herself.  Something wasn’t right.  We took pictures and an hour and a half went by quickly.  Then I came back in the afternoon and they didn’t get lost this time.  My Mom seemed a little more at ease.  Came to find out that she was nervous about being around other inmates.  Mark and I were laughing, and told her there was nothing to worry about.  Because they are there to visit their families.  They don’t care about what’s going on around them.  Haha.  She was herself after we got past that.  It was an awesome visit!  We talked about everything…. Mark’s hand, Sam, Colin, the sewing plant, me getting to Medium, the very un-nutritious food, and my favorite conversation was the one about God.

It was amazing and they both gave me great spiritual advice and insight.  I was happy and sad when they left…  More happy than sad.  Happy for the time together, sad that they had to leave. But they said they were going to come back in August!  Yay!  That is only 3 months!

To close out, God is Good!  All the time!

Leave a Reply

