Meaningless – March 20, 2015

“I denied myself nothing my eyes desired; I refused my heart no pleasure.  My heart took delight in all my labor, and this was the reward for all my toil.  Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.”  — Ecclesiastes 2: 10-11

As I was reading my Bible today, I ran across these two verses and they really hit home with me.  In the first few chapters of Ecclesiastes, “meaningless” is a common theme.  In fact, the book starts off with a headline in the NIV that says “Everything is Meaningless”.  But these two verses are from the section headlined “Pleasures are Meaningless.”  As you can read above, the author ends this section with verses 10-11.  He talks about how he got everything he wanted.  How he built houses, planted vineyards, made gardens and parks, bought slaves, a bunch of livestock, silver and gold, singers and women for his pleasure.  Then he ends with verses 10-11.  He ends with “Everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.”

After all this indulging in “Things” and pleasures, he realized that these things never made him permanently happy.  They made him feel good for a little while, then the happiness was gone.  A lot of times, people do the same thing now.  They buy everything, every pleasure their eyes see.  They rack up an enormous amount of debt to have these “things”.  It is a common theme in society today.

I am guilty!  I had to have the nicest cars, newest car, and I had to have three of them!  If we didn’t have the cash to eat out, we had a credit card.  We had great credit!  Why not?  In the end I made a huge mistake, lost my job and ended up in prison. Now my wife is filing for bankruptcy.

All those “things” and pleasures I needed, ended up hurting a lot of people.  All one person needs is God, air, food, water and shelter.  You don’t need to have a super nice house or a new car.  Like the author says “pleasures are meaningless.”  If you want an everlasting happiness, put your full faith and trust in God.  Do this and you can be happy living in a tent or walking to work!

Read Ecclesiastes 2: 1-10

Leave a Reply

