Pictures – Feb 22, 2015

The other day, an inmate and I were playing Monopoly.  I don’t know if he is in a gang or what he has done, but his morals aren’t great.  This doesn’t bother me because you never know when you will get a chance to talk about God with another brother.  Well, an opportunity arose that day, but I didn’t have to talk about God or Christianity or religion.  It was simple.  He asked if I wanted to buy some inappropriate pictures of women.  I said, “no thanks” and he asked me “why not?”  I said that women are valuable and they de-value women.

I was very nice about it.  I have had to learn that over the past 10 months.  I would be a liar if I told people that I have NEVER looked at inappropriate pictures of women. I am not proud of those moments in my life, but I have found GOD is greater than anything, even myself.  I didn’t tell him that.  I walked away and another inmate looked at him and said, “He is a Christian.”  The inmate with the pictures said “I am too.  I read my Bible and believe in Jesus.”  The other inmate said, “That doesn’t make you a Christian.  You cuss, gamble and look at pictures.”  I stood watching some guys playing Scrabble and smiled at this conversation.

Today I was sitting with the choir waiting for the inmates to file in at church.  The last inmate to walk in was the inmate that had the pictures.  I looked at him and smiled.  Then the Chaplain was near the end of his message and said, “If you want to show people that you are a real Christian, don’t go back to the block cussing, gambling and trading pictures.”

The inmate that had the pictures leaned over, turned his head and looked at me, smiled and shook his head. You can’t be afraid to take a stand for what you believe.  I will continue to pray for this young man and his family.  He asked the Chaplain to pray for the inmates, their families and to pray that we (inmates) will lift each other up!  I cried!  I mean that!

Love,
Eddie

Leave a Reply

