Seeds – Feb 11, 2014

Tonight I was reading my Bible after evening devotional.  I am reading all 4 gospels as a challenge made by the Chaplain.  Now I have read the Gospels before, but the second time is even better.  I was reading Luke 8: 1-15, the Parable of the Sower.  A different, slightly different, version is told in Matthew 13: 2-23 and Mark 4: 1-20.  I have read all versions and for some odd reason, the Luke 8: 4-15 version spoke to me.

I stopped reading and thought about these verses.  I asked myself “Which seed am I?” I came to the thought that though I am in prison, I still long for food.  I love ice cream and food.  It is a pleasure in this life.  Also I still worry about a lot of things.  So naturally I can identify with the seed among thorns.  Luke 8:14 says “The seed that fell among the thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way, they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures and they do not mature.”  

Sometimes I feel like life’s worries and pleasure keep me from maturing in my faith and spiritual journey.  I have made it a personal goal to become the “seed on good soil.”  What seed are you?

Read Luke 8: 4-15

Leave a Reply

