How He loves us – Feb 14, 2014

I was lying in bed, listening to the Christian music and the song “Oh How He Loves Us” came on.  It brought up a lot of good memories from my very first mission trip in Nashville, TN.  At the beginning of this trip, my attitude was sour.  We had to walk a good 2 miles back to the church every time we parked the van.  It was hot in the middle of July.  I was so out of shape and probably at the highest weight I had ever been.  I had a great group of students, and we had to help out at a youth summer sports camp.  I am not the sports type, so I wasn’t happy!

We went and all we did was played sports with the kids.  I didn’t understand how this was a mission, and was really negative and mad.  After the first day, I went and talked to the mission director and asked him about this mission.  He told me that it may not seem like you are doing much, but you are.  Yes, you’re not feeding the homeless or packaging relief packages.  That is what I thought a mission was, and that’s not what I was doing.  I was playing sports with happy kids.  Then the director told me a little about the kids and their backgrounds.  He told me that they just want to be loved.  They want to feel like someone cares about them.  These kids came from rough homes, single parents homes, and most of them didn’t have a Dad.  When he told me that, it touched my heart.

I had a different attitude the rest of the week.  We sang the song “Oh How He Loves Us” every night.  It wasn’t until months later and now, that this song really touches me.  On April 27, 2014 I gave my life to Christ and repented of my sins.  This was a week after the investigation started on my case.  After I laid down my sins at the cross, this song played, and I bowed my head in my hands and wept.  I thought to myself, “How can anyone forgive me and still love me after what I did?” Now when I hear this song it reminds me of God’s love for us.  God loves us no matter what we have done.  He is a Father to the fatherless.  He is a God of love!

Read 1 John 4: 7-12, 16

Leave a Reply

