Maximum Security Retirement Home – Feb 1, 2015

I was talking to my Dad today on the phone.  we were talking and nothing has really happened in the last week.  The only thing that happened here was I almost got written up.  (see blog “Almost Written Up”) and 3 people went to the hole.  Also I started sewing size labels on XL pants.  Two of the people got sent to the hole for fighting.  They were arguing, then one guy slapped the other guy and the guy punched him back.  The other guy was kicking the sliding door and cussed out the Unit Manager.  This all happened on the same day.

Not much happening on my Dad’s end other than the fact he hasn’t smoked a cigarette for a month (note from Eddie’s Mom:  Yay!!!).  That is exciting.  Near the end of the conversation, I told him I felt like I was in a retirement home.  Haha.  We have such a routine here.  We wake up at 6:00 a.m. go to breakfast, come back and chill in our room until 7:30 a.m.  I go to school at 8:00 a.m., go to lunch at 10:30, come back to my room until 1:00 p.m., go to class at 1:00 p.m., come back at 2:45 p.m., have 45 minutes of free time.  Dinner is at 3:45 p.m., room from 4 – 6:15.  Then 6:15 – 11 p.m. free time.  Lights out at 11, 12 a.m. on Friday and Saturday.  It is so institutionalized.

During that night free time, guys are either talking, playing games, cards or watching TV.  Sometimes I feel like I am in a retirement home.  Last night I played Rummy with 3 other guys.  All had their coffee mugs, just talking about nothing.  Haha.  It reminded me of 4 older guys, sitting at Hardees or in a retirement home playing cards and talking about the local news.  This is the atmosphere most nights, unless there is basketball or football on.  Then everyone is yelling at the TV thinking the players and coaches can hear them.  LOL.  I will keep you updated on the exciting news of the Marion Correctional Retirement Home.  😉  That’s supposed to be a winkie face.  Wink. Wink.  Haha!

Leave a Reply

