Sewing Class – Day 2, Jan 9, 2015

Before I get started, I forgot to mention some important details about the class.  By being in this class and possibly working in the plant, I will be released November of 2030, my minimum.  That is exciting!  Unlike what my lawyer said, it is really easy to make your minimum release date.  (Note from the editor [Mom]:  Eddie’s lawyer was an incompetent who cares more about politicking than about doing his job–my opinion only. Eddie’s father would disagree with me.  LOL) I have met inmates who have been written up multiple times and only worked during 50% of their sentence.  They still got out at their minimum release date.  These inmates have been in prison more than once.

Also, the class is from 8:00 am – 10:30 am and 1 pm – 2:45 pm Monday – Friday.  The only downside is that I miss Yard Time.  I was just starting to exercise, walk/jog again.  Working up to running again.  Now I can only go to the recreation on the weekends.  I will have to come up with a room exercise routine I guess.

So the second day of sewing started out discouraging, but ended up great.  The first half of class, all I did was sew straight lines for 2 1/2 hours.  Then the teacher’s aide told me I was not going to move onto anything else until I filled 4 scrap pieces with lines.  They never told us that.  It was frustrating.  He told me 10 minutes before class was finished.  So I was frustrated.  If I would have known that, I would have been onto something else… like sewing pockets or something.  I came back to my room and prayed hard.  I prayed continuously for about 20 minutes to relax me and not to worry about it.  I asked God to help me focus in the second session and to complete the task.  I felt much better, not frustrated.  I went into the second session determined to finish the task and to improve.  I did 6 strips of scrap!  The teacher’s aide and instructor told me that I would move onto something else on Monday. I was excited!

Then I got back to my room and another prayer was answered. I got 2 letters, one from my Dad and one from my Step Mom.  I hadn’t heard from them in 3 weeks.  I was a little worried about them.  For the past week, I prayed about it.  All I have to say is “God is good…. All the time… All the time…. God is Good!”

Peace everyone!

Leave a Reply

