Protection – December 26, 2014

Before I came to prison, I did a lot of research on what to expect.  Some of it was really kind of a myth.  However, a lot of it is true.  I am talking about drugs, tattoos, sexual predators and the biggest ones are gangs.  There are a lot of people in here that are in gangs.  If they weren’t in a gang before, sometimes a person will join a gang when they get in prison.  I’m sure there are at least 4 or 5 guys in my cell pod that are affiliated with a gang.  They have all this talk, gang talk.  They act like gangsters.  And a lot of the time have tattoos that are specific to a gang.  I guess when people are in gangs they have a high sense of protection while they are in here.

Sometimes I feel that some people join a gang because they are scared.  I also feel like they join a gang to be bad to the bone.  For whatever reason, they join a gang.  I don’t get the point.  Most likely it is the reason they are in here.  It isn’t really helping them out that much.  Then tougher gang members will offer protection to guys who they think are weak.  For example this guy is kind of stalking me, and wants to do sexual things to me.  Some gang members found out and they offered protection in exchange for $5.00 of canteen items.  I told them, “Thank you for your concern, but I am not worried about it.”  I am not getting involved with that stuff.  The guy hasn’t ever tried anything to me.  It would have been a waste of $5.00 and who knows what else that could have led to.

I have a protector already.  His name is God.  I ask Him to protect me every day and He does.  In Ephesians 6:10-20 it talks about putting on God’s Armor. Throughout the Bible, it talks about how God will protect the one who believes.  It talks about fighting evil with His word and so on.  The power of God and the power of prayer are amazing.

Recommended reading:  Ephesians 6:10-20

Leave a Reply

