Acting Big and Bad… In Prison – Dec 20, 2014

I have taken a “stay to myself” kind of stance while I have been in here.  I have kept aware of my surroundings at all times. Watched my back, trusted no one.  And I have no friends.  Now if someone comes up to me and says “Do you like snow?” Then I will be nice.  I am not a rude guy.  Or if they come up and ask me what I am reading or what I am reading in my Bible, and they want to have a conversation about God or God’s word, sure.  I will talk to them and be nice.  However, I am not going to go and try to make friends or enemies in prison.  This is hard for me, because I have always talked to everyone.

Now I HAVE to be quiet to survive.  Crazy, huh?  I also have to have full trust in God.  Have a strong prayer life and an absolute belief with no doubts.  I have been doing these things and people let me alone.  Every once in a while I have a good conversation with someone or a close game of pool or chess.  Because of my strong beliefs, staying in God’s word and keeping to myself, I have peace in my heart.

However, there are a lot of different personalities in prison.  I am going to point out one inmate specifically.  There is this guy in his 40’s and the first day he was here, he acted like he was big and bad.  He was talking about how he wanted to go to the worst prison in the NC system.  At this prison, there are stabbings all the time, fights, and a whole bunch of violence. He said the first thing he was going to do was find a shank and start stabbing people.  A week has passed, people figured out that he was all talk and wanted to beat him up.  They wanted to challenge him, stab him and pound him to the ground.  Now he is paying for protection.  He told one of the inmates in my pod that when he got off the bus, he was going to ask for protective custody.  He is scared out of his pants.  This is what happens when you try to take things into your own hand.  This guy ran his mouth and talked a big talk and made lots of enemies.

Trust in God and let him live in you and protect you, show His love.  And you will be blessed.

Recommended reading: Isaiah 43:1-7

Leave a Reply

